Driving laws are developed to keep drivers, pedestrians, and property safe. However, many drivers end up breaking these laws and are fined accordingly. Previously we had covered some of the driving laws breached by drivers in Texas, here are some more:
Driving Under The Influence
Driving under the influence has to be one of the most dangerous things you can do as a driver. You’re jeopardizing the lives of people on the road along with property. Every year over 10,000 accidents happen because of DUI.
In Texas, you can’t drive if your blood alcohol concentration is above 0.08%. For commercial drivers, the level is lower at 0.04%. If you’re under the age of 21 its 0.02%, even though you’re not legally allowed to drink before 21.
Make sure you arrange for transport if you have been drinking. It’s safer to come back the next day to take your car once you’ve sobered up. With ride-hailing services, it’s not difficult to find a ride home at any time of the day or night.
Since driving under the influence is such a serious offence, the fines can go up to $2000 for first-time offenders. You also get you’re licensed revoked for 90 days and can be jailed for 3 days to 180 days.
Driving Without Insurance
Auto insurance is essential for driving in the United States. Auto insurance demonstrates financial responsibility for damages in case of an accident–you can’t be driving around if you can’t take on this responsibility.
Driving an uninsured vehicle can cost you $350 and upward for first-time offenders. The next time you’re at the DMV, you’ll be surcharged for the next three years. Your car might also be impounded the second time around.
In the case of an accident in an uninsured car – Texas requires $25000 for property damage, $60,000 for personal injury per accident, and $30,000 per person. You’re therefore better off having your vehicle insured from the get-go.
The speed limit is marked on every street and therefore missing the sign is never a good excuse. Speeding is still one of the most common traffic violations in Texas. A first-time offender can get away with a fine between $1 to $200. If the offence is more serious, your license can be suspended too.
Those who have a history of speeding violations can take up defensive driving. These driving classes also help you become a more cautious driver.
Champions Driving School offers driving courses authorized by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. We provide online defensive driving classes in Houston to make you a better driver along with teen driving classes in Houston to help those starting out. Sign up with us for the ultimate driving education and pass your test without any fear!
Reach out to us here:
Cypress: 11734 Grant Rd Cypress, TX 77429 | 281-477-6177
Pinehurst: 32350 State Highway 249 Suite 15 Pinehurst, TX 77362 | 832-934-3077
Note: If you’re comfortable getting out of the house for in-person classes, Champions Driving School continues taking all necessary precautions to keep everyone safe and healthy inside our classrooms and during driving lessons.