SHOP COURSES

Teen Driver’s Education

Top Rated Teen Driving School

Teen Driver’s Education

We understand the significance of starting your teen’s driving journey and the anxieties that come with them getting their license. Champions Driving School’s Texas-approved program is here to help! We offer a convenient and comprehensive solution with everything your teen needs in one place – classroom instruction, behind-the-wheel training, and even on-site DPS-authorized road testing. Get peace of mind knowing your teen is prepared to be in the driver’s seat.

  • 32 hours of classroom instruction
  • 7 hours of behind the wheel instruction
  • 7 hours of in-car observation

The Best Drivers Ed for Teens

Preparing Confident and Safe Drivers
Getting a license is a big step for both teen drivers and their parents! At Champions Driving School, we understand the excitement new drivers feel about getting behind the wheel. We also recognize the importance of safety as a top priority for parents.

Experienced Instruction with Proven Results
All our instructors are highly qualified and state-certified, with the necessary training hours required by TDLR. This ensures your teen receives the best quality instruction to build a strong foundation in safe driving practices.

Developing Safe Habits for Young Drivers
Distracted driving, particularly texting, poses a significant threat to young drivers. Our curriculum emphasizes the dangers of distractions and equips your teen with the skills they need to stay safe on the roads. Beyond preparing them for the knowledge test and road test, we focus on developing safe driving habits that will last a lifetime.

Getting Your Texas Learner’s Permit

As part of the teen drivers ed. class, we can give your teen the written knowledge test (aka permit test) at our location, after they complete 6 hours of class (3 classes). This will dramatically reduce your wait time at the DPS!”

Homeland Security is requiring that all permits have a picture. Therefore, the student will be required to go to the DPS in person to have their picture taken when applying for a permit. After passing the permit test with us, a parent or court appointed guardian (bring court papers with you) must accompany the teen to the DPS office of your choice.

Learner’s Permit Checklist

Look over our Checklist for getting your learners permit at the DPS to ensure that you bring all necessary documents. Then double-check the list again because there’s nothing worse than spending several hours at the DPS just to discover you’re missing one document. Also, we would be more than happy to pre-check your paperwork before your trip to the DPS to confirm that you have everything you need.

Take the DADAP Class

The road can be a dangerous place, especially for young drivers. That’s why our Teen Drivers Ed course includes the Drug and Alcohol Driving Awareness Program (DADAP). This critical 6-hour program educates young drivers about how drugs and alcohol impair their judgment, reaction time, and coordination, emphasizing the consequences of driving under the influence.

Earning a license is a privilege, which means it can be taken away as a result of irresponsible decisions behind the wheel. By learning about the dangers of impaired driving and responsible decision-making, teens can navigate the roads with confidence and avoid making choices that could have serious consequences.Behind The Wheel Training

To earn their license, teens need to complete 44 hours of in-car training, 14 of which must be done with a certified instructor here at Champions Driving School. Your student will receive 14 hours of instruction, including:

  •   7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
  •   7 hours of in-car observation

Each lesson is a comprehensive two hours, providing a balance of hands-on driving and observational learning. Through these 7 lessons, your teen will learn essential skills like car handling, basic maneuvers, and safe driving practices according to the rules of the road. Our certified instructors will guide your teen through our proven curriculum that is sure to have your teen driving like a Champion.

Process for
The Official Driver’s License

Once your teen has fulfilled the drivers ed. requirements, has held their permit for at least 6 months, and is at least 16 years old, they can schedule their road test to get their license.

Schedule a DPS-Authorized Road Test

The road test is a state-requirement but it can be done with either the DPS or a Third Party Skills Testing (TPST) school, like Champions. See DPS-AUTHORIZED ROAD TEST page for more information and to schedule your test right away!

Checklist for Getting Your Official License

Look over our Checklist for getting your license at the DPS to ensure that you bring all necessary documents. Most of our students choose to take the road test with us in order to be in a comfortable and familiar environment during this nerve-racking experience. However, if you choose to take your road test at the DPS, be sure to request your DE-964 completion certificate from us prior to your test date, as this is a vital document necessary at the DPS to get your license. For our students taking the test with us, your DE-964 certificate will be ready for you when you come in at your appointment time, and will be included in your final package to take to the DPS for processing.

Documents needed at the Department of Public Safety

Application for Teen TX Driver License or Identification Card Form:

Verification of Enrollment for Homeschoolers:

Texas Residency

30 hour Behind The Wheel Instruction

    Have a Question?

    A Lifetime of Safe Driving Starts Here

    Our course focuses on safety, proper driving technique, and a thorough understanding of the rules of the road – including traffic signals, right-of-way rules, and defensive driving techniques. Get your teen on the road confidently — choose a class below!

    Schedules + Packets

    16 Days

    Weekday Classes are 6:30-8:30 PM
    AND Saturday Classes are 10:00AM-12:00 PM

    16 Days

    Weekday Classes are 6:30-8:30 PM
    AND Saturday Classes are 10:00AM-12:00 PM

    (Flex) 16 Days

    All Classes are offered at
    10:00AM-12:00 PM & 6:30-8:30 PM

    (Flex) 16 Days

    All Classes are offered at
    10:00AM-12:00 PM & 6:30-8:30 PM

    (Flex) 16 Days

    All Classes are offered at
    10:00AM-12:00 PM & 6:30-8:30 PM

    (Flex) 16 Days

    All Classes are offered at
    10:00AM-12:00 PM & 6:30-8:30 PM

    Summer Schedules Coming Soon!

    Call Us

    Operating Hours

    Mon-Fri: 10 am – 8:30 pm
    Sat-Sun: By Appointments Only

    Locations

    Cypress Driving School

    11734 Grant Road
    Cypress, TX 77429
    281-477-6177

    Tomball / Magnolia
    Driving School

    32350 Highway 249, Suite 15
    Pinehurst, TX 77632
    832-934-3077

    The following links are informational packets & paperwork. Please feel free to print out any that you may need.

      Have a Question?

      FAQs

      How long is the Teen Driver’s Education Course?

      At Champions Driving Schools, students will complete 32 hours of in-class instruction done in 2 hour blocks per day and 14 hours of in-car instruction broken down into 2 hour blocks (1 hour behind the wheel and 1 hour observing). Schedule your drive time with Champions Driving School.

      How much does the Teen Driver’s Education class cost?

      We offer payment plans! Our teen drivers education course is state- required and consists of: 32 hours of classroom instruction, 7 hours of behind the wheel instruction, 7 hours of in-car observation for only $419. Schedule your teen for a Texas-approved course today.